CVCA Governance

The CVCA is the voice of Canada’s venture capital and private equity industry.

We are focused on broadening industry awareness through market research and networking opportunities so that our members can make the best decisions for their investments. We also advocate on behalf of the industry to ensure sound public policy that encourages a favourable environment for investment.

The CVCA works alongside its members (private and public sector firms managing the vast majority of venture capital and private equity in Canada) to improve the industry and drive innovation and growth.


past presidents  committees  board of directors



Chair: Whitney Rockley, McRock Capital

Vice-Chair: Mark Usher, Wellington Financial LP       

Past Chair: Dave Mullen, Highland West Capital Ltd.

Treasurer: Peter Dowse, Ironbridge Equity Partners

Secretary: Gary Solway, Bennett Jones LLP


Jocelyn Blanchet, KPMG LLP
Matthew Leibowitz, Plaza Ventures


Rob Barbara, Build Ventures
Cheryl Brandon, Waterton Global Resource Management
Tom Birch, Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec
Ching-yen Chen, InstarAGF Asset Management
Rob Connoly, Westcap Mgt. Ltd.
Alain Denis,
Fonds de solidarité (FTQ)
Chris Erickson, Pangaea Ventures
Steve Faraone, Teachers’ Private Capital
Aki Georgacacos, Avrio Capital
Ryan Giles, TriWest Capital Partners
Wally Hunter, EnerTech Capital
Jacki Jenuth, Lumira Capital
Kent Kirkpatrick, Alberta Teachers’ Retirement Fund
Hans Knapp, Yaletown Partners Inc.
Steve Leightell, Georgian Partners
Alan Lever, TorQuest Partners
John Loh, Birch Hill Equity Partners
Jeff Linner, PFM Capital
Geneviève Morin, Fondaction
Rob Normandeau, SeaFort Capital
David Nowak, Brookfield Asset Management
Jérôme Nycz, BDC
Jim Orlando, OMERS Ventures
Marc Paiement, Novacap
Senia Rapisarda, HarbourVest Partners
John Stokes, Real Ventures
Suganya Tharmalingam, Kensington Capital Partners
Kent Thexton, Scale Up Ventures
Rob Wildeman, Parallel49 Equity